Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Welding

SFT Search:   

Old 12-11-2017, 07:04 AM

Default lincoln powermig 210mp vs. miller multimatic 215

I am a retired coal fired power plant mechanic welder. Certified in 6g stick pipe welding with some mig experience. I am looking to buy a machine for home/hobby use and need input on pros and cons for the Lincoln Powermig 210MP and the Miller Multimatic 215. Thanks.
Old 12-11-2017, 08:14 AM
Made From Scratch

I have no experience with the miller, but I have owned a lincoln 210 since about june last summer.

I am very happy with the mig performance, I have run .030 and .023 solid wire, and a little bit of fluxcore on jobs ranging from autobody panels to 1/4 inch steel. I have always been a fan of lincoln's crisp arc and I also own a lincoln 216 and they run pretty similar. If you are used to a miller mig you may prefer it, but I can't see anyone not being able to live with the arc on the lincoln.

For stick welding I have run 6011 in 1/8 inch and 3/32(hobart rod), and some 1/8 inch 7018 (lincoln rod). Used it on 1/8 inch up to 1/4 inch with some vertical and overhead mixed in. My first couple beads out of the box I wasn't super happy with, but this machine allows you to adjust the hot start and arc force and after dialing those in I think it is a dream to run. I have seen some reviews where guys say it is a mig welder with SOME stick capability, and if you are used to running a high end dedicated stick machine that may be true but after years of running buzz boxes and old transformer machines I am really happy with the 210.

I bought mine to use for portable work and have run it off of 120V and 220V. It is a much more capable machine on 220, but welds very nice on 120. On one job fixing grain bins I was able to plug into a 30 amp 120V outlet and it ran like a champ on a 100ft extension cord. On a 15 amp outlet I have had trouble popping breakers.