Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Welding

SFT Search:   
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 01-05-2018, 07:41 PM
BukitCase BukitCase is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Lost in Oregon
Posts: 929
Default

Dunno about OTHER inverter based machines, but my new MM211 is SPECIFICALLY rated for 50 or 60 hZ - my OLD (transformer) one was 60 hZ ONLY... Steve
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-05-2018, 08:08 PM
USMCPOP's Avatar
USMCPOP USMCPOP is offline
Gold Star Dad
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Richmond, VA area
Posts: 11,438
Default

How much does this guy want to spend? I mentioned Thermal Arc because the 211i is a decent welder. UK price of 928 pounds now is a good bit more than the USA closeout price in the past year. But worth considering. Perhaps a used 252i? The Rales brother's new company bought Victor/Thermal Arc/Thermadyne and ESAB. It's a shame they discontinued some of the T/A stuff, as it was inexpensive but good. They still sell some of the same smaller arc welders in the UK, just painted them ESAB yellow. (BuddyArc, BuddyTIG).

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Thermal-Ar...0AAOxyeR9TKhrl
__________________
USMCPOP
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-06-2018, 10:45 AM
Rob65 Rob65 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Sheffield UK
Posts: 36
Default

Ron,

Whereabouts in the U.K is the guy who would be buying this? There is an Esab dealer here in Sheffield.

They are also an Rtec dealer. I could call in and see what they have available to demo / compare the two brands.

Web site is
http://truflame.co.uk/

They also do in house repairs so I would guess warranty would be covered by them rather than returning a machine to a manufacturer.

Rob





Sent from my iPhone using ShopFloorTalk mobile app
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-06-2018, 12:01 PM
Shade Tree Welder's Avatar
Shade Tree Welder Shade Tree Welder is online now
Grumpy Bastard
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Kankakee County, IL
Posts: 18,121
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob65 View Post
Ron,

Whereabouts in the U.K is the guy who would be buying this? There is an Esab dealer here in Sheffield.

They are also an Rtec dealer. I could call in and see what they have available to demo / compare the two brands.

Web site is
http://truflame.co.uk/

They also do in house repairs so I would guess warranty would be covered by them rather than returning a machine to a manufacturer.

Rob
He works at my company's plant in Manchester (Trafford Park). So I know he
lives not too far from Manchester as he commutes daily. But exactly where I
don't know. I emailed him the link to this thread and SFT in general. So
hopefully he joins and chimes in. But Sheffield is not far by US standards.
Nice town, always love a University Town.

Thread drift. My company is one of them member companies of AMRC
(Advanced Manufacturing Research Center) over in Sheffield it is associated
with the University of Sheffield. A good buddy and coworker, Steve, manages
that relationship. Anyway he lives in Burton upon Trent, so I usually get a
hotel near his house. Generally on the way back from AMRC we stop in
Bakewell. And not for what you think, there is a wonderful whisky shop there
call the Wee Dram. Steve unfortunately cannot taste too much as he is
driving but I do, and generally spend too much money there. Sometime we
get a tart and some tea too...
__________________
Shade

"Prepare to defend yourselves."
-- Sergeant Major Basil L. Plumley, Ia Drang Valley
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-06-2018, 03:48 PM
JohnBoy's Avatar
JohnBoy JohnBoy is offline
Director of Languages
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Southern Ireland
Posts: 2,107
Default

I don't know how much British content is in SWP stuff anymore, they're not rated nearly what they used to be.

I haven't used one but those thermal arc fabricators do look really nice. Stick, scratch tight and mig in one neat little box. I have one of their stick inverters and know a few more with them with no complaints about quality




Something to be mindful of is that while we are 230v over here generally domestic supplies would be relatively low current. Depending on the age of his house he might have only 40amps if it's old, 60 if it's half modern but much more than that would be the exception. I do sit here open mouthed at the talk of 400a supplies in the states.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-06-2018, 04:57 PM
Shade Tree Welder's Avatar
Shade Tree Welder Shade Tree Welder is online now
Grumpy Bastard
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Kankakee County, IL
Posts: 18,121
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnBoy View Post
Something to be mindful of is that while we are 230v over here generally
domestic supplies would be relatively low current. Depending on the age
of his house he might have only 40amps if it's old, 60 if it's half modern
but much more than that would be the exception.
When we were talking the other day on the phone, he said he had a 30 or 40
amp (230V) outlet he could use for it. He said which one he had I just cannot
remember which, we were discussing the MM 212.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnBoy View Post
I do sit here open mouthed at the talk of 400a supplies in the states.
400A while readily available, is not that common, most new construction is
either 100A or 200A service. My house I rented before buy this place only had
60A service which until the 70's was common. The whole house would dim a
bit when I would start my table saw. I don't think most utilities will run
anything under 100 amps anymore.

Since I am zoned ag (A-1) I can have multiple services. It is really nice that
I have 2 400A services one to the shop and one to the house. Power is not
really a concern.
__________________
Shade

"Prepare to defend yourselves."
-- Sergeant Major Basil L. Plumley, Ia Drang Valley
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-06-2018, 05:12 PM
digger doug's Avatar
digger doug digger doug is offline
Not to be used as a Flotation Device
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NW Pa
Posts: 9,813
Default

I have a 400 amp service, the meter box is much larger, there are 2 lugs
inside to attach (2) 200 amp panels.

I have only 1 panel hooked up presently, they are common around here
with the "McMansions".
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-06-2018, 05:27 PM
Shade Tree Welder's Avatar
Shade Tree Welder Shade Tree Welder is online now
Grumpy Bastard
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Kankakee County, IL
Posts: 18,121
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by digger doug View Post
I have a 400 amp service, the meter box is much larger, there are 2 lugs
inside to attach (2) 200 amp panels.

I have only 1 panel hooked up presently, they are common around here
with the "McMansions".
Yeah I have 2 x 200a mp panels in my shop. I also feed a 100 amp sub panel
in the barn from the shop. My house only has one 200A panel currently but
that will change one day...
__________________
Shade

"Prepare to defend yourselves."
-- Sergeant Major Basil L. Plumley, Ia Drang Valley
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-06-2018, 05:40 PM
digger doug's Avatar
digger doug digger doug is offline
Not to be used as a Flotation Device
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NW Pa
Posts: 9,813
Default

I have heard that German houses have 380 3 phase.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-06-2018, 06:26 PM
JohnBoy's Avatar
JohnBoy JohnBoy is offline
Director of Languages
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Southern Ireland
Posts: 2,107
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shade Tree Welder View Post
When we were talking the other day on the phone, he said he had a 30 or 40
amp (230V) outlet he could use for it. He said which one he had I just cannot
remember which, we were discussing the MM 212.

n.
32a so, there really isn't a single phase socket any bigger, any more than that gets hard wired.

If he has one of those in his shed then he should be OK for any reasonable inverter so.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Web Search:

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.