Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Fabrication

SFT Search:   

Old 10-18-2005, 07:10 PM
Below Wholesale

Default welded on axle truss?

Customer wants me to make a truss like this one. Any ideas how to weld it up so I dont distort the hell out of the housing. My ideas so far.... make some kind of fixture, holding it on the ends and pinion support and skip around to weld. Check it afterward and bend back true as necessary.

I have never done this before and dont want to ruin this dudes housing. Any ideas are appreciated. I dont want to get it done and find out I cant get it true!

Old 10-18-2005, 07:24 PM
Standard of Excellence

Once you get it all cut out and fitted (good tight fit up job), then tack it place in the middle and on the ends. After that it will be pretty rigid. Still, I think I would just skip weld it and not weld it all the way around.
You could take some measurements of it first to make sure it didn't move too much. I think I would start by leveling it on stands, then check the axle ends for true with a level. Then measure betwixt a point on the axle tubes (just make a punch mark) and the pinion yoke and record all these measurements. Then recheck 'em afterwards.
I am sure a rearend guy (automotive rear end) will chime in with perhaps an easier method, but if you level it up and triagulate a few measurements you should come pretty close.
Old 10-18-2005, 07:25 PM
Mender of the Yellow Iron

Location: Belton South Carolina Home of the Standpipe Festival

Never done one of these but I do think you have the right idea.I don't believe it would have to be welded solid stitch might be the way to go?
Old 10-18-2005, 08:00 PM
Da Chief

Default a stich in time...