Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Mechanical & Electrical

SFT Search:   
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-21-2017, 09:43 PM
greywynd's Avatar
greywynd greywynd is offline
I can dig it
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Peterborough, Ontario
Posts: 3,397
Default Phase Converter questions

Seems I'm going to be needing a phase converter sometime in the future. So I'm on the lookout for a suitable idler motor.

In this part of the country, a lot of the three phase equipment is 575 volt. Am I correct in my thinking that I need to find a 208/240v motor?

I think I have a 5hp motor, have to check it out and see though. I'd love to have a 7.5 or maybe a 10, that's likely as large as I'd ever need. If the 5 is usable, I'd likely wire the controls and such to handle a heavier motor if I can upsize in the future.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-22-2017, 12:15 AM
Walker's Avatar
Walker Walker is offline
Standard of Excellence
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Cave Creek AZ
Posts: 3,986
Default

You need one for whatever your incoming voltage is.
__________________
Walker
Chief slag chipper and floor sweeper, Ironwood Artistic
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-22-2017, 12:16 AM
Walker's Avatar
Walker Walker is offline
Standard of Excellence
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Cave Creek AZ
Posts: 3,986
Default

Also remember that you can't run a 10 horse motor from a 10 horse converter.
__________________
Walker
Chief slag chipper and floor sweeper, Ironwood Artistic
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-22-2017, 01:52 AM
Norcal Norcal is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: California
Posts: 992
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greywynd View Post
Seems I'm going to be needing a phase converter sometime in the future. So I'm on the lookout for a suitable idler motor.

In this part of the country, a lot of the three phase equipment is 575 volt. Am I correct in my thinking that I need to find a 208/240v motor?

I think I have a 5hp motor, have to check it out and see though. I'd love to have a 7.5 or maybe a 10, that's likely as large as I'd ever need. If the 5 is usable, I'd likely wire the controls and such to handle a heavier motor if I can upsize in the future.
Can't run 600V equipment on 240V without a transformer, since your in Canada a suitable 600V X 240V X-former should be more common.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-22-2017, 08:17 AM
greywynd's Avatar
greywynd greywynd is offline
I can dig it
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Peterborough, Ontario
Posts: 3,397
Default

Right now the biggest motor I'll have to run is the 2hp on the mill. Fortunately it's 220v, so no transformer required.

The grinder spindle motor is 575v, so I have to decide what I'm going to do, but have started watching for a 220 to 575 step up transformer. They aren't a common item though, and people seem to hang onto them if they know what they have. I had a big one several years ago, bigger than what I figured I'd ever need, and gave it to my brother to use with his phase converter.

I hope to get a quick moment to check the voltage on the 5hp motor I have today before I start my travels.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-14-2018, 08:37 PM
greywynd's Avatar
greywynd greywynd is offline
I can dig it
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Peterborough, Ontario
Posts: 3,397
Default

So of course the motor I have is 575V, not a candidate to build a phase converter.

I did find a 5hp rotary phase converter, as part of a package with a 208-575 transformer. No pics as of yet, asking price is $900 Can. Seems a bit high to me, but guess it depends what all comes with it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-14-2018, 09:03 PM
digger doug's Avatar
digger doug digger doug is offline
Not to be used as a Flotation Device
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NW Pa
Posts: 9,840
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greywynd View Post
So of course the motor I have is 575V, not a candidate to build a phase converter.

I did find a 5hp rotary phase converter, as part of a package with a 208-575 transformer. No pics as of yet, asking price is $900 Can. Seems a bit high to me, but guess it depends what all comes with it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
You can do it either way, 240v x 600v single phase xformer, then
onto the RPC motor. However, finding a Steevco voltage sensing
relay will be a bit tougher, as well as 600v rated caps.

Or, like I do (and most do) 240v RPC motor, then thru a 240v x 600v volt
3 phase xformer.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-14-2018, 10:36 PM
greywynd's Avatar
greywynd greywynd is offline
I can dig it
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Peterborough, Ontario
Posts: 3,397
Default

Seems all I can find are 575/600 volt motors, which then makes the rpc parts tougher/more expensive to source.

I know some basic electrical, enough that I can likely make it work, but have zero inventory to start from scratch. Guess I’m more wondering if the converter and transformer package is a reasonable deal at $900 Can. (About 6-700US).

I’ve asked for pictures of the unit and am hoping to get something tomorrow.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-14-2018, 11:29 PM
Walker's Avatar
Walker Walker is offline
Standard of Excellence
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Cave Creek AZ
Posts: 3,986
Default

Have you looked for a replacement motor for the grinder? What frame and HPis it?
__________________
Walker
Chief slag chipper and floor sweeper, Ironwood Artistic
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-15-2018, 12:18 AM
Ironman's Avatar
Ironman Ironman is offline
Iron Modification Investigator
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Warburg, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 11,686
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcal View Post
Can't run 600V equipment on 240V without a transformer, since your in Canada a suitable 600V X 240V X-former should be more common.
how many amps do you need, Grey? should be 2.
I may have what you need.
__________________
Gerry
“After all, no one is stupid enough to prefer war to peace; in peace sons bury their fathers, and in war fathers bury their sons.”
Herodotus

Even duct tape can't fix stupid ... But it can muffle the sound. Attributed to Red Green
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Web Search:

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.