Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Mechanical & Electrical

SFT Search:   
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-31-2017, 11:31 AM
MetalWolf's Avatar
MetalWolf MetalWolf is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Wilson Co. Texas
Posts: 504
Question Limit Switch ??

I bought a couple Limit Switches thinking ill use them on my pedal actuated spot welder modification....

But was not thinking on how they operate as it cuts power but not sure
if the switch cuts power when actuated can it be reversed to produce power when actuated.

I have a momentary switch the spot welder came with but don't think it will hold up being operated mechanically

any ideas from the experienced ??

Click image for larger version

Name:	20171231_093020.jpg
Views:	56
Size:	163.1 KB
ID:	142792Click image for larger version

Name:	20171231_093053.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	97.1 KB
ID:	142793Click image for larger version

Name:	20171231_093112.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	107.7 KB
ID:	142794Click image for larger version

Name:	20171231_093128.jpg
Views:	37
Size:	75.5 KB
ID:	142795Click image for larger version

Name:	20171231_093201.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	119.5 KB
ID:	142796
__________________
..Randall.......Peace!

"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to
do nothing." -Edmund Burke-
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-31-2017, 11:50 AM
digr's Avatar
digr digr is offline
The Real Deal
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Duluth MN
Posts: 7,013
Default

When you take the cover off there should be NO or NC marked inside.
__________________
Drawing by Smartdraw
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-31-2017, 12:41 PM
BukitCase BukitCase is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Lost in Oregon
Posts: 928
Default

Your first pic shows what Digr's talking about - it's marked right on the cover. NO (Normally Open) should CLOSE when actuated. Commonly a limit switch will OPEN when actuated, to remove power. Moving connections to the OTHER pair of terminals will turn power ON when you activate the switch... Steve
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-31-2017, 12:48 PM
Scotts's Avatar
Scotts Scotts is offline
Stuff, Just stuff
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Wichita Kansas
Posts: 4,780
Default

To complete the circuit when you activate the switch you want to use terminals 3&4

There are 3 screws that hold the cover on pull off cover and there are the four screws to connect wires to.

You will only use two screws.

Scott


Sent from my iPhone using ShopFloorTalk mobile app
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-31-2017, 03:00 PM
terry lingle's Avatar
terry lingle terry lingle is offline
Something's Fishy ...
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Birch Island, BC, Canada
Posts: 4,598
Default

You might want to know how much current the switch will be interupting to be sure that it is operating within it's range. If the current is too high you will need to add a suitable magnetic contactor to handle the load current.
__________________
Life beats the alternative hands down.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-31-2017, 04:24 PM
Lew Hartswick Lew Hartswick is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Albuquerque NM
Posts: 3,300
Default

See who made the Actual SWITCH inside. I'd almost bet it's either Microswitch Corp or Cherry . Get the number off it and do a search to get the actual current switching rating. I've used hundreds of Microswitch switches back in the old electronic ages. :-)
...lew...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-31-2017, 04:30 PM
MetalWolf's Avatar
MetalWolf MetalWolf is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Wilson Co. Texas
Posts: 504
Default

The switch says 5a 250v AC & 0.4a 115v DC
I Am using 230V power on a 230v HF Spot welder If that helps..
i believe it is only 25 amp when it makes the spot weld ill have to go back and look at the manual.

If its not a safe switch to use for my intended purpose no biggie please let me know. Then ill look around to find momentary switch that is in the configuration or design as the limit switch that can handle it.
__________________
..Randall.......Peace!

"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to
do nothing." -Edmund Burke-
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-31-2017, 07:47 PM
toprecycler's Avatar
toprecycler toprecycler is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Petoskey, Michigan
Posts: 2,729
Default

I think Terry will be right. You will have a magnetic contractor to make that switch work.


Sent from my iPhone using ShopFloorTalk mobile app
__________________
Brian

You don't know what you don't know.

"It's what you learn after you know it all that counts." John Wooden
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-31-2017, 08:20 PM
LKeithR's Avatar
LKeithR LKeithR is offline
Hey...wait...is there a prize?
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Langley, B.C.
Posts: 4,188
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by toprecycler View Post
...I think Terry will be right...
Terry is right. Always.............at least that's what he tells me.

Most of the limit switches I've seen are relatively low amperage--meant to work in secondary control circuits...
__________________
Keith

Measure twice and cut once...or...wait, was that the other way around?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-31-2017, 08:43 PM
terry lingle's Avatar
terry lingle terry lingle is offline
Something's Fishy ...
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Birch Island, BC, Canada
Posts: 4,598
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LKeithR View Post
Terry is right. Always.............at least that's what he tells me. .
No that's Gerry Or is it Glenn
__________________
Life beats the alternative hands down.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Web Search:

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.