Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Shop & Safety

JR Welding Tools
SFT Search:   
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-18-2007, 11:30 AM
smooth72 smooth72 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Newcastle, Oklahoma
Posts: 28
Default Help on Breaker Box

This is my second breaker box next to my 200 amp box. It is a 125 amp box. My question is next to the main breaker can I install a 220 breaker. I have seen some boxes that say leave blank but I need to add a 220 breaker for an AC unit and this is the last double breaker place I have remaining. Thanks for any input.
http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a1...Breakerbox.jpg
__________________
If you get your information from one place you have plagiarized, if you get it from many sources it research.

Last edited by smooth72; 12-18-2007 at 01:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-18-2007, 11:49 AM
Sberry's Avatar
Sberry Sberry is offline
GOD of Strawberries!!!
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 3,799
Default

Yes, if there are contacts and more tabs to remove to make the cover fit go for it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-18-2007, 12:23 PM
Sberry's Avatar
Sberry Sberry is offline
GOD of Strawberries!!!
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 3,799
Default

There should actually be a drawing in the cover. I think I would shut that down, unsnap the breaker and work on the wires, pre-fold a little to align and relax them so the breaker relaxes squarely. Some require a main breaker holdown clamp. You may actually have 2 more slots, if this is a sub next to the main there is no breaker needed, hook the feeds to the main lugs and toss the breaker as long as there is correct over current protection feeding it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-18-2007, 02:51 PM
sparx's Avatar
sparx sparx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario
Posts: 247
Default check the codes

I am not sure what the electrical codes are in your area, but in my part of the world, you can not have anything in the top portion of the panel next to the service breaker.
there is a cover plate that will go over the service breaker that will also cover the other side of the bus bar. (If I am reading that photo correctly) to isolate the usage breakers from the service area of the panel. I would check into the codes before setting that up, just to be sure (and safe.)
__________________
I'll be damned if I'm going to spend $50.00 on something I can build for $100.00!!!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-18-2007, 03:24 PM
midmosandblasting's Avatar
midmosandblasting midmosandblasting is offline
Blast this!
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Calhoun ,Mo
Posts: 7,392
Default

Do you have any idea of the amp draw now .Yes the box is full but the draw through the 200 amp panel is ? You could pull and place a breaker in the 200 to feed the 125 if total draw is ok. otherwise back to meter and seperate feed or to the external disconnect if you have one. If service is 200 the electrcal company may require a upgrad before allowing to pull for the 125.They did allow it for me 200 amp service ,200 amp box for house and pulled a 125 for garage.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-18-2007, 06:05 PM
smooth72 smooth72 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Newcastle, Oklahoma
Posts: 28
Default

Thanks for the info. The box has normal tabs with no restriction. I think both breaker boxes goes out to the meter. I have a 1300 square garage and when I built the house the electrician said with a garage this big he put in extra service. (maybe). I was wondering how you count the load on the box. If you just count up the breaker amps? I have a 50 amp welder breaker in the 200 box plus lots of other amp breaker that could add up fast. Since you never use every thing at once is there a formula that you use?
__________________
If you get your information from one place you have plagiarized, if you get it from many sources it research.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Web Search:

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.