Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Machining

SFT Search:   
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 03-14-2017, 12:32 PM
LKeithR's Avatar
LKeithR LKeithR is offline
Hey...wait...is there a prize?
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Langley, B.C.
Posts: 3,953
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pepi View Post
...So open the mic and indicate it, then turn until I have zero..... too simple...
Yeah, you can arrive at a finish dimension either way, it's just a matter of where you start. In both cases you're tracking the amount of material left to be removed from the workpiece...

Quote:
Originally Posted by USMCPOP View Post
Absolute/incremental modes.
Not really. Imagine you're turning a shaft with three different steps. If you measure the distance to each of the steps from the end of the shaft you're using absolute mode. The distance to each of the steps is "x', "y" and "z" respectively. If you measure the first step from the end of the shaft and then measure each subsequent step from the previous one you're using incremental mode. The distance to the first step is "x", the distance to the second is "x" + "y" and the distance to the third is "x" + "y" + "z".

Quote:
Originally Posted by pepi View Post
...Sure will take some of the math out of it, more time for turning. I like the lathe can live without another math problem...
A lathe, like every other tool in the shop, is something you have to learn how to use. With training and practice most people can become capable in their use. There are people out there who should never be allowed near a lathe but I don't think many of them visit this site...
__________________
Keith

Measure twice and cut once...or...wait, was that the other way around?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-14-2017, 01:47 PM
projectnut projectnut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Madison Wisconsin
Posts: 73
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironman View Post
Some of the Asian Lathes read in actual movement, ie. move the dial 10 thou and an indicator will show carriage movement of 10 thou.
This is real nice when you put hours of work into some project and then forget to divide by 2 and screw up the whole thing.
My lathe is an Indian creation(to the best of my knowledge) and when I dial in 2 thou on the crossfeed it will show on a dial indicator that I moved 1 thou.

So there it is. Mount a dial indicator on your lathe ways, and indicate off the tool post. Now move the dial on the cross feed and see where she goes to.
Some older American made machines use the same system. I have 2 lathes in the shop that read diameters. One is an older Seneca Falls, and the other is a relatively new Sheldon. The real memory test is when switching from one machine to the other. For each rotation of the cross feed screw on the Seneca Falls machine the carriage advances .100". For each rotation of the cross feed screw on the Sheldon the carriage moves .125".

The real memory test is
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-14-2017, 03:01 PM
USMCPOP's Avatar
USMCPOP USMCPOP is offline
Gold Star Dad
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Richmond, VA area
Posts: 11,114
Default

Keith, I was just referring to the electronic calipers/micrometers having the ability switch modes to show actual dimension or +/- from some preset for one particular measurement.
__________________
USMCPOP
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-14-2017, 03:14 PM
terry lingle's Avatar
terry lingle terry lingle is offline
Something's Fishy ...
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Birch Island, BC, Canada
Posts: 4,341
Default

I have three lathes in my shop on one the cross feed cuts from diameter the other two cut from radius the DRO can be set for either as is your preference but in the end final fit is never left up to the machine based measurements but is determined using external measuring equipment. Most often the DRO is accurate but it does not take into account wear on the cutter for example. Close is ok with horseshoes and hand grenades but not so on a machining job.
__________________
Life beats the alternative hands down.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-14-2017, 03:40 PM
USMCPOP's Avatar
USMCPOP USMCPOP is offline
Gold Star Dad
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Richmond, VA area
Posts: 11,114
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by terry lingle View Post
... Close is ok with horseshoes and hand grenades but not so on a machining job.
I have 3 lathes, 60 hammers, an O/A torch and an infinite number of class of fits.

But seriously, my son is the machinist, I'm just a tool pimp.
__________________
USMCPOP
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-14-2017, 05:04 PM
TEK's Avatar
TEK TEK is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Again, Chicago Park, Calipornia
Posts: 2,493
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by terry lingle View Post

Close is ok with horseshoes and hand grenades
And tactical nukes...
__________________
"I was raised with you do things because its what you should do. I never expected anything in return."
-----DozerDan
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Web Search:

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.