Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Machining

Canaweld
SFT Search:   
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-13-2017, 06:40 AM
pepi's Avatar
pepi pepi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Woodstock, GA
Posts: 104
Default A different way to use a digital mic

So it goes,

Turning a bushing the final size of the OD would be less than 0.750. As I'm removing material and taking readings.

Being a simple man I said self, how about presetting the mic too 0.750 and zero it? Obviously the work piece OD of the bushing is larger. So open the mic and indicate it, then turn until I have zero..... too simple...

Feel free to flame, the only way to learn is to put it out there.

The boot,
Greg
__________________
Magazines have issues ......everything else has problems

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PmmyMGQojzI
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-13-2017, 07:28 AM
Lew Hartswick Lew Hartswick is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Albuquerque NM
Posts: 3,135
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pepi View Post
Feel free to flame,
Greg
Just a bit of a scorch. No Flames :-) That is for those that are "mathematically challenged" . :-)
...lew...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-13-2017, 08:15 AM
USMCPOP's Avatar
USMCPOP USMCPOP is online now
Gold Star Dad
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Richmond, VA area
Posts: 11,039
Default

Absolute/incremental modes.
__________________
USMCPOP
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-13-2017, 09:20 AM
milomilo's Avatar
milomilo milomilo is offline
Auction Addict
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wheatland, Wyoming
Posts: 10,766
Default

I do that and divide by 2 to get the amount needed on the dial. Eliminates math errors for me.
__________________
Chris

Loyalty to the Nation all the time, loyalty to the Government when it deserves it. Mark Twain
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-13-2017, 09:41 AM
Ironman's Avatar
Ironman Ironman is offline
Iron Modification Investigator
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Warburg, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 10,797
Default

Same here, but I don't have to divide, my crossfeed reads radius.
Pepi, here is a video on sneaking up on a dimension.
However, ask yourself how many times you can move your caliper and return to zero every time. Probably twice. A caliper makes a great calculator, and is good to rough to size, and I use it that way, but for the last bit you want to grab the mike.
__________________
Gerry
It is tempting to blame others for all this, especially those in control of the system, but don’t forget that for decades you voted for people who routinely lied before elections, and told you what you wanted to hear, that you could have it all right now and to hell with the future – well, that future has now arrived. Clive Maund

Even duct tape can't fix stupid ... But it can muffle the sound.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-13-2017, 09:42 AM
terry lingle's Avatar
terry lingle terry lingle is offline
Something's Fishy ...
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Birch Island, BC, Canada
Posts: 4,304
Default

I do that all the time my main lathe is sett to remove inficated amount from diameter as is my DRO.
__________________
Life beats the alternative hands down.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-13-2017, 06:43 PM
pepi's Avatar
pepi pepi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Woodstock, GA
Posts: 104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironman View Post
Same here, but I don't have to divide, my crossfeed reads radius.
Pepi, here is a video on sneaking up on a dimension.
However, ask yourself how many times you can move your caliper and return to zero every time. Probably twice. A caliper makes a great calculator, and is good to rough to size, and I use it that way, but for the last bit you want to grab the mike.
Ironman,

"crossfeed reads radius" how is that found ?

I ask because I noticed Tom took the OD reading, made note that he needed 0.120 taken off. He set - .120 so as when .000 was reached he had 1.125 OD. I was surprised the .120 was not divided by 2 .....now reading that your lathe is capable of reading a "crossfeed radius" my antenna is up.

I want to know how to check for that on my lathe? Thinking it could have that and I not know it...or is this one of those try it to find it type of deal? If that's the answer all I'm up for the adventure...

Like Tom's instruction videos very much, easy to follow the process.

Thanks in advance,
Greg
__________________
Magazines have issues ......everything else has problems

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PmmyMGQojzI

Last edited by pepi; 03-13-2017 at 07:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-13-2017, 09:04 PM
Ironman's Avatar
Ironman Ironman is offline
Iron Modification Investigator
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Warburg, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 10,797
Default

Some of the Asian Lathes read in actual movement, ie. move the dial 10 thou and an indicator will show carriage movement of 10 thou.
This is real nice when you put hours of work into some project and then forget to divide by 2 and screw up the whole thing.
My lathe is an Indian creation(to the best of my knowledge) and when I dial in 2 thou on the crossfeed it will show on a dial indicator that I moved 1 thou.

So there it is. Mount a dial indicator on your lathe ways, and indicate off the tool post. Now move the dial on the cross feed and see where she goes to.
__________________
Gerry
It is tempting to blame others for all this, especially those in control of the system, but don’t forget that for decades you voted for people who routinely lied before elections, and told you what you wanted to hear, that you could have it all right now and to hell with the future – well, that future has now arrived. Clive Maund

Even duct tape can't fix stupid ... But it can muffle the sound.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-14-2017, 03:47 AM
clive's Avatar
clive clive is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 1,432
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironman View Post
Some of the Asian Lathes read in actual movement, ie. move the dial 10 thou and an indicator will show carriage movement of 10 thou.
This is real nice when you put hours of work into some project and then forget to divide by 2 and screw up the whole thing.
My lathe is an Indian creation(to the best of my knowledge) and when I dial in 2 thou on the crossfeed it will show on a dial indicator that I moved 1 thou.

So there it is. Mount a dial indicator on your lathe ways, and indicate off the tool post. Now move the dial on the cross feed and see where she goes to.
I worked at a shop that had two Indian HMT lathes, I don't know how it worked but the speeds were electronic, you could change speed without stopping the chuck. I only used them a few times but they were fairly rugged.
__________________
It's So Easy
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-14-2017, 06:44 AM
pepi's Avatar
pepi pepi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Woodstock, GA
Posts: 104
Default

Thanks ironman,

I get it, neat will or must take that and see what I can do with it. Had to reread what was written, but it did sink in.

Sure will take some of the math out of it, more time for turning. I like the lathe can live without another math problem .... LMAO

cheers
Greg
__________________
Magazines have issues ......everything else has problems

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PmmyMGQojzI
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Web Search:

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.