Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Shop & Safety

SFT Search:   
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-21-2017, 10:44 AM
Scratch Scratch is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Hudson WI
Posts: 255
Default Magnetic drill for fab table

I'm looking to drill about 60 holes in my one inch thick 4'x6' fab table. I think I'm going with 1/2" holes, but may end up going with 5/8" holes instead. Do places rent them, or am I going to have to buy one? Will a new bit hold up to that many one inch holes?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-21-2017, 12:01 PM
Ironman's Avatar
Ironman Ironman is offline
Iron Modification Investigator
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Warburg, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 11,677
Default

I don't know if they rent them, but not around here.

Will the bit stand up?
That depends on the operator quite a bit. If you set up a coolant feed with the bottle supplied with the unit, and ensure your steel is clean and rust free, probably will. If you overfeed, expect some tip breakage.

There are units like a Hougan that have auto feed, which is good for this kind of exercise, my drill is a low cost($400) Chinese unit so I don't have autofeed, but it's not rocket science, you can tell when the bit is happy.
__________________
Gerry
“After all, no one is stupid enough to prefer war to peace; in peace sons bury their fathers, and in war fathers bury their sons.”
Herodotus

Even duct tape can't fix stupid ... But it can muffle the sound. Attributed to Red Green
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-21-2017, 01:21 PM
BukitCase BukitCase is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Lost in Oregon
Posts: 928
Default

My Hougen doesn't have auto feed, but Gerry's right; you don't NEED it if you pay attention. I've cut holes from 7/16" up to 1-1/2" through steel from .095" up to 1" thick with mine, mostly 1/4" wall tubing.

Some of my cutters have seen probably over 200 holes, mainly 1/4" thick, and are still as sharp as when new. I tend to keep loose track of that by how many seconds it takes for a particular size hole (yeah, tiny bit of OCD here )

Hougen recommends you do NOT baby the cutters or run dry, but instead use enough down pressure to load the drill down audibly. Works for me... Steve

Oh, also - if you're drilling 1" material, do NOT buy a 1" depth of cut cutter - might work, but 2" DOC is only a few bucks more...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-21-2017, 02:11 PM
milomilo's Avatar
milomilo milomilo is online now
Auction Addict
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wheatland, Wyoming
Posts: 12,107
Default

I was with Ironman, but I see they do rent them. Not a bad rental fee either.
__________________
Chris

“In order to become the master, the politician poses as the servant.” Charles de Gaulle
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-21-2017, 02:40 PM
digger doug's Avatar
digger doug digger doug is offline
Not to be used as a Flotation Device
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NW Pa
Posts: 9,791
Default

Gonna run a tap down thru them when done ?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-21-2017, 02:41 PM
LKeithR's Avatar
LKeithR LKeithR is offline
Hey...wait...is there a prize?
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Langley, B.C.
Posts: 4,188
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by milomilo View Post
I was with Ironman, but I see they do rent them. Not a bad rental fee either.
All the rental places around here have them. Of course there has to be a rental outlet within a reasonable distance or it doesn't do you much good. We've got 3 or 4 places within a couple miles--nearest one is about a half mile away.

A good quality drill should do 60 holes without a problem--maybe touch up the cutting edges half way through. I'd use a good cutting oil if I were tackling that job...
__________________
Keith

Measure twice and cut once...or...wait, was that the other way around?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-21-2017, 03:23 PM
GWIZ's Avatar
GWIZ GWIZ is offline
SFT Historian
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,426
Default

Try Home Depot.
may have to call more than one I was asking about a sewer cam and they told me only one HD had one that was broken.

I did see some large drills that had carbide/diamond cutters for drilling concrete post holes. cant say if they had magnetic bases but likely.
__________________
*
*
The factory of the future will have only two employees, a man and a dog. The man will be there to feed the dog. The dog will be there to keep the man from touching the equipment. ~Warren G. Bennis
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-21-2017, 03:47 PM
Scratch Scratch is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Hudson WI
Posts: 255
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by digger doug View Post
Gonna run a tap down thru them when done ?
No. I'm planning on just a simple grid of holes. I want to use pins and clamps like this setup:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iDRc6m3D7sU&t=604s
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-21-2017, 05:20 PM
platypus20's Avatar
platypus20 platypus20 is offline
Boiler God
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: camillus, ny (syracuse)
Posts: 9,021
Default

I have done 300-400 holes with a good quality cutter, through 3/4” plate.
__________________
jack
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-21-2017, 06:37 PM
Ironman's Avatar
Ironman Ironman is offline
Iron Modification Investigator
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Warburg, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 11,677
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scratch View Post
No. I'm planning on just a simple grid of holes. I want to use pins and clamps like this setup:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iDRc6m3D7sU&t=604s
Good, I was imagining you chasing BB's out of threads for ever
__________________
Gerry
“After all, no one is stupid enough to prefer war to peace; in peace sons bury their fathers, and in war fathers bury their sons.”
Herodotus

Even duct tape can't fix stupid ... But it can muffle the sound. Attributed to Red Green
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Web Search:

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.