Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Welding

SFT Search:   
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 01-09-2018, 12:03 PM
digger doug's Avatar
digger doug digger doug is offline
Not to be used as a Flotation Device
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NW Pa
Posts: 9,810
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by threepiece View Post
There's no swearing on my threads.
Hell, there goes the neighborhood.....
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 01-09-2018, 07:45 PM
Shade Tree Welder's Avatar
Shade Tree Welder Shade Tree Welder is offline
Grumpy Bastard
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Kankakee County, IL
Posts: 18,119
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shade Tree Welder View Post
I just sent the follow email to Hobart Customer Service. Let's see what we get back.
Well Hobart got back to me.

Quote:
Ron,

Thanks for your question regarding the Hobart 706 solid wire you purchased
via Grainger.

This is a private label product carrying the Hobart name, that is sourced via a
third party and sold exclusively through the Grainger catalog. It meets the
chemical and mechanical requirements of an ER70S-6 wire as outlined by the
American Welding Society spec A5.18. Because it is a private label product
sold exclusively through Grainger you will not find it on our website.

If you are looking for an alternative wire under the Hobart name I would
recommend an HB-28, also an ER70S-6 wire. Also made in China, this wire
runs very well. It is available in a variety of diameters and packages, and info
on the wire can be found on our web site at www.hobartbrothers.com.

Thanks again for your question and comments.

Regards,
Bruce Morrett

Stick Electrode Solid Wire Product Manager
Hobart Brothers Company
Bruce.Morrett@hobartbrothers.com
937-332-5095
Lessons on how to destroy your Brand in 1 easy step, let Grainger license your
Brand name and sell completely shitty wire under it.

Threepiece what did they charge you for the wire and was it a 10 pound spool?
__________________
Shade

"Prepare to defend yourselves."
-- Sergeant Major Basil L. Plumley, Ia Drang Valley
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 01-10-2018, 02:15 AM
LKeithR's Avatar
LKeithR LKeithR is offline
Hey...wait...is there a prize?
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Langley, B.C.
Posts: 4,188
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shade Tree Welder View Post
...Lessons on how to destroy your Brand in 1 easy step...
Well, to their credit, they did get back to you quickly and explain what was going on...
__________________
Keith

Measure twice and cut once...or...wait, was that the other way around?
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 01-10-2018, 06:22 AM
Scott V's Avatar
Scott V Scott V is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Prineville Oregon
Posts: 3,139
Default

The real Hobart HB-28 (McKay) wire was quite a interesting story.. From the time Hobart hired a charlatan engineer to reformulate their wire made right here in the USA (ten years ago..) Changed the draw lube along with some other things,, totally ruining the welding proprieties of that wire. Just insane in the first place, because of why people bought HB-28 in the first place.. Of course took quite of bit of digging to get to the bottom of that one. Hobart was not too open about how they screwed the pooch on that one.

I have heard from my friend, the China Hobart is fixed now, and what Miller used to set the arc type on their new MM-215 inverter.. Carry -on. but still sticking with Italian INE INC. wire for my Mig work
__________________
HARLEY-DAVIDSON: "THE MOST EFFECTIVE WAY TO CONVERT GASOLINE INTO NOISE WITHOUT THE SIDE-EFFECTS OF HORSEPOWER":evil:
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 01-10-2018, 08:09 AM
threepiece threepiece is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Suburban Detroit Mi
Posts: 872
Default

[QUOTE=Shade Tree Welder;702575
Threepiece what did they charge you for the wire and was it a 10 pound spool?[/QUOTE]

I think they called it 11 lbs and there is another issue. Your posts prompted me to do a bit of research. I found what appears to be the same wire in .030" for half the price I paid which was $44.

There has been some developments. I installed a spool of Radnor brand ER70S-6 in .045" yesterday, I am getting the same contamination issue. I am wondering now if the gas may be the culprit. I changed out my gas tank at the same time as the wire last week. I am using an argon/C02 mix. Has anyone had such an issue with gas?
__________________
We are Borg but we don't know it.....yet. We are being assimilated but we don't know it.....yet. Resistance is not futile.....yet. Are you and your children "connected".....yet?

If you are not having fun then you are doing it wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 01-10-2018, 01:21 PM
LKeithR's Avatar
LKeithR LKeithR is offline
Hey...wait...is there a prize?
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Langley, B.C.
Posts: 4,188
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by threepiece View Post
...I am getting the same contamination issue. I am wondering now if the gas may be the culprit...

...Has anyone had such an issue with gas?
Yeah, the occasional bottle of contaminated gas is something we encounter every once in a while. We average about 7-8 bottles of gas in the shop at any one time and I'd say we get a skunky one maybe every other year. Detecting the problem is usually pretty easy--porosity shows up in the weld.

Our LWS replaces bad bottles no questions asked...
__________________
Keith

Measure twice and cut once...or...wait, was that the other way around?
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 01-10-2018, 01:29 PM
Shade Tree Welder's Avatar
Shade Tree Welder Shade Tree Welder is offline
Grumpy Bastard
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Kankakee County, IL
Posts: 18,119
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LKeithR View Post
Well, to their credit, they did get back to you quickly and explain what was going on...
Yes, and in my reply I did thank him, for his prompt and thorough response.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott V View Post
The real Hobart HB-28 (McKay) wire was quite a interesting story.. From the time Hobart hired a charlatan engineer to reformulate their wire made right here in the USA (ten years ago..) Changed the draw lube along with some other things,, totally ruining the welding proprieties of that wire. Just insane in the first place, because of why people bought HB-28 in the first place.. Of course took quite of bit of digging to get to the bottom of that one. Hobart was not too open about how they screwed the pooch on that one.

I have heard from my friend, the China Hobart is fixed now, and what Miller used to set the arc type on their new MM-215 inverter.. Carry -on. but still sticking with Italian INE INC. wire for my Mig work
Since my volume of welding is dropping off I just buy L-56 from Lincoln,
it is top quality wire, you pay for it but it eliminates a variable.

BOC used to have a wire out of Chile, called Indura, it was really good wire and not expensive. But when Airgas bought them out it went away replaced
with the Radnor crap.

Quote:
Originally Posted by threepiece View Post
I think they called it 11 lbs and there is another issue. Your posts prompted me to do a bit of research. I found what appears to be the same wire in .030" for half the price I paid which was $44.

There has been some developments. I installed a spool of Radnor brand ER70S-6 in .045" yesterday, I am getting the same contamination issue. I am wondering now if the gas may be the culprit. I changed out my gas tank at the same time as the wire last week. I am using an argon/C02 mix. Has anyone had such an issue with gas?
Last spool of wire I bought was just under $2 a pound and it was either
a 33 or 44 pound spool.

I have to say all my gas over the year was either from BOC back in the day
or SJ Smith, never had a bad cylinder of gas.
__________________
Shade

"Prepare to defend yourselves."
-- Sergeant Major Basil L. Plumley, Ia Drang Valley
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 01-11-2018, 11:31 AM
platypus20's Avatar
platypus20 platypus20 is offline
Boiler God
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: camillus, ny (syracuse)
Posts: 9,021
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shade Tree Welder View Post
......I just buy L-56 from Lincoln.....
that all that I use........
__________________
jack
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 01-11-2018, 12:06 PM
digger doug's Avatar
digger doug digger doug is offline
Not to be used as a Flotation Device
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NW Pa
Posts: 9,810
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shade Tree Welder View Post
BOC used to have a wire out of Chile, called Indura, it was really good wire and not expensive. But when Airgas bought them out it went away replaced
with the Radnor crap.
http://www.microsofttranslator.com/b...FAcu%C3%ADcola

Looks like they are part of "Air Products"...and they just got that
Oxygen tanker truck on that there ferry.....
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 01-15-2018, 07:48 AM
Jeff's Avatar
Jeff Jeff is offline
Big Iron
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: N.E.SD
Posts: 1,884
Default

After using the flavor of the day from the LWS, I always go back to L56.
Especially if the wire is going to sit a while, the store brands are more likely to rust
__________________
Jeff
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Web Search:

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.