Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Fabrication

SFT Search:   
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-10-2016, 07:27 PM
Scrapper Greg's Avatar
Scrapper Greg Scrapper Greg is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: WV
Posts: 3,503
Default Compressor rehab

OK. about 15 years ago, I bought a "Professional grade" 60 gal compressor. Well let me tell ya, it aint no professional grade about it. If it has 100 hours on it, I'd be lucky. It has one of those oilless compressor setups on it. It sucks. Period. I have replaced rods and cylinders in it 2 or 3 times. I have officially given up. Soooo, I got a 5hp Marathon motor and the big HF compressor. This HAS to be better. So I started building my motor/compressor mount. Its around 3x3x5/16 or 3/8 angle. I hope this is heavy enough......... I truly believe that I will have to put a ring on top of it to lift it and the motor and compressor on in one unit. Pic 1: Whats being replaced
Pic 2: New mount
Pic 3: Compressor holes drilled and tapped.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20160509_223413.jpg
Views:	413
Size:	98.1 KB
ID:	131554   Click image for larger version

Name:	20160510_183949.jpg
Views:	377
Size:	100.9 KB
ID:	131555   Click image for larger version

Name:	20160510_194507.jpg
Views:	372
Size:	104.5 KB
ID:	131556  
__________________
MAGA
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-10-2016, 07:49 PM
milomilo's Avatar
milomilo milomilo is offline
Auction Addict
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wheatland, Wyoming
Posts: 11,445
Default

What psi is the HF compressor?
__________________
Chris

Loyalty to the Nation all the time, loyalty to the Government when it deserves it. Mark Twain
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-10-2016, 08:26 PM
Scrapper Greg's Avatar
Scrapper Greg Scrapper Greg is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: WV
Posts: 3,503
Default

Says its 145 in the book. Forget what the cutoff is on the switch. Its been so long since I ran it.....
__________________
MAGA
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-10-2016, 08:49 PM
allessence's Avatar
allessence allessence is offline
Gadget Girl
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: MA, 01543
Posts: 6,156
Default

Should be a great upgrade..

The HF compressors heads can be pretty good..
__________________
_________________
Jennifer

If I defend myself I am attacked.

My meaningless thoughts are showing me a meaningless world.

My attack thoughts are attacking my invulnerability.

I'd like to think of something smart, but I don't want to hurt myself.

My google+ page

DoALL 36"
Another Johnson model J Project
Lathe? Maybe..... 1958 SBL 13"
Yeti Esseti Aka running welder on 3phase.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-10-2016, 09:14 PM
cutter's Avatar
cutter cutter is offline
Curmudgeon
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Lubbock,Texas
Posts: 31,664
Default

Is that pressure switch going to be able to handle a 5hp motor?
__________________
cutter
Housekeeping Staff: the Gatekeeper
Director of Policy, Syntax and Grammar (by appointment)

"Dr. Chandran, will I dream?"

I want to go home!
Oh! Come to think of it, I am home.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-10-2016, 09:40 PM
Scrapper Greg's Avatar
Scrapper Greg Scrapper Greg is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: WV
Posts: 3,503
Default

It should (?!?) The original motor was rated at 6.5. Might be subjective there. Just like the professional label. But if it releases the magic smoke, I guess I'll swap a new one on. I'll check the rating on it tomorrow.
__________________
MAGA
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-10-2016, 09:59 PM
Ironman's Avatar
Ironman Ironman is offline
Iron Modification Investigator
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Warburg, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 11,326
Default

Greg, I'd worry about bending that angle iron lifting it like that.

Be careful welding to those tanks. They are thin, built to the standards of the compressor they used.
The Cast iron Chinee heads are very durable, you should be fine there. The pressure switch will handle 5hp, but it's life will be considerably shorter. The contacts burn over a couple of years.
If you install a relay, it will be switching .01 amp and last til it mechanically fails. A mag starter is the expensive way to go, but relays start at 3 bucks, and go up. Here is an example of a mid range one you can mount is a spare electrical box.
__________________
Gerry
It is tempting to blame others for all this, especially those in control of the system, but don’t forget that for decades you voted for people who routinely lied before elections, and told you what you wanted to hear, that you could have it all right now and to hell with the future – well, that future has now arrived. Clive Maund

Even duct tape can't fix stupid ... But it can muffle the sound.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-10-2016, 10:10 PM
Scrapper Greg's Avatar
Scrapper Greg Scrapper Greg is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: WV
Posts: 3,503
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironman View Post
Greg, I'd worry about bending that angle iron lifting it like that.

Be careful welding to those tanks. They are thin, built to the standards of the compressor they used.
The Cast iron Chinee heads are very durable, you should be fine there. The pressure switch will handle 5hp, but it's life will be considerably shorter. The contacts burn over a couple of years.
If you install a relay, it will be switching .01 amp and last til it mechanically fails. A mag starter is the expensive way to go, but relays start at 3 bucks, and go up. Here is an example of a mid range one you can mount is a spare electrical box.
I will be wearing steel toe boots when lifting that setup, just to be safe.... Tank itself will not be welded on. If I need to weld, it will be in the "shelf" that the motor is bolted to. I marked that relay. And will dig into that soon.
__________________
MAGA
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-11-2016, 12:04 AM
cutter's Avatar
cutter cutter is offline
Curmudgeon
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Lubbock,Texas
Posts: 31,664
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper Greg View Post
It should (?!?) The original motor was rated at 6.5. Might be subjective there. Just like the professional label. But if it releases the magic smoke, I guess I'll swap a new one on. I'll check the rating on it tomorrow.
The reason I mentioned it is I've read/heard of them welding themselves closed when they're overloaded. That can be pretty scary and expensive.
__________________
cutter
Housekeeping Staff: the Gatekeeper
Director of Policy, Syntax and Grammar (by appointment)

"Dr. Chandran, will I dream?"

I want to go home!
Oh! Come to think of it, I am home.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-11-2016, 01:46 AM
Scrapper Greg's Avatar
Scrapper Greg Scrapper Greg is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: WV
Posts: 3,503
Default

Cutter, I hadn't heard of that. I think I'm going to work on something like Gerry mentioned with the relay. That way it will take the load off of the pressure switch.
__________________
MAGA
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Web Search:

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.