Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Welding

Canaweld
SFT Search:   

Old 01-15-2017, 02:06 PM

Send a message via AIM to Rufus Send a message via Yahoo to Rufus
Default Heat sinks

Hi all:
I will have my 150 amp diodes in about a week and I was wondering, does the heat sinks have to be made of aluminum? I have given some thought as to using just plain mild steel and tack welding the heat sinks together. My nephew who works in the IT field tells me that heat sinks are made of either aluminum or copper. Can I use mild steel?

Thanks
Tim
Old 01-15-2017, 02:22 PM

I don't believe steel would transfer the heat fast enough , I've been a industrial electrician for 40 years and have never seen anything but aluminum used .
Also remember to use silicon heat sink compound when mounting the studs to the aluminum .
Old 01-15-2017, 02:22 PM
set phasers to .50 caliber

Of course steel will work as a heat sink, but it would take a much better engineer than me to tell you if it's sufficient compared to the vastly greater thermal transfer speed of copper or aluminum. You might be able to make up for it in the design with greater mass or surface area.
Old 01-15-2017, 02:44 PM

Another thought that has occurred to me is to use heads off of small engines. Some are aluminum and some are cast iron although the aluminum heads dissipate heat more readily. Here is a heat sink that I am considering:

https://www.zoro.com/omron-relay-hea...00/i/G2608715/

Thanks
Tim
Old 01-15-2017, 03:01 PM
Elite Member

Are you planning on one each for the diodes or thinking of all 4 on one of those?
If you'd give me a sketch of the circuit and data on the diodes load etc. maybe I could be a bit of help. I did this sort of stuff for a lot of years.
On the subject of material, NO steel is not going to be a suitable for a "heat sink" for the kind of use I think you are talking about.