Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Welding

SFT Search:   

Old 02-08-2017, 06:24 PM
That HURT!

Default Budget AC/DC TIG

A friend of mine is looking for a budget AC/DC TIG machine for sheet metal work.
He was asking me about the Alpha TIG 200Xhttps://www.amazon.com/AHP-AlphaTIG-Stick-Welder-PULSE/dp/B00REX6USW/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1486595814&sr=8-1&keywords=alpha+tig+200x

I suggested a Dynasty 200DX but that is way out of his budget. Does anyone know anything about this APH 200X?
Are there any other budget TIG options out there that are not total junk?

Any suggestions?
Old 02-08-2017, 07:13 PM

I don't have any personal experience, but I have watched a couple of video reviews, and they actually seem to have decent output.
Old 02-08-2017, 11:43 PM
Iron Modification Investigator

I've got a 200 amp Longevity Tig and I can't complain about the machine, hasn't blown up and does tig weld better than I do, but I am an amateur at it.
It is tempting to blame others for all this, especially those in control of the system, but don’t forget that for decades you voted for people who routinely lied before elections, and told you what you wanted to hear, that you could have it all right now and to hell with the future – well, that future has now arrived. Clive Maund

Even duct tape can't fix stupid ... But it can muffle the sound.
Old 02-09-2017, 10:57 AM
Post Fiend

"Looks" like a decent unit for the money, especially for an AC/DC TIG with HF start. Reviews seem mostly positive. I'd want to see inside before I bought it, though.

I like the way it has separate knobs for the settings. While some might not like the clutter, I could see easy (and cheap) field replacement if necessary vs having to diagnose and buy a separate circuit board... Unless of course the knobs are mounted to a circuit board!