Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Welding

SFT Search:   

Old 02-19-2017, 11:26 PM

Default tips welding on a 6013 rod

I'm a beginner student, I'm struggling on a vertical t joint with 6013. I need tips. thanx
Old 02-19-2017, 11:38 PM
Made From Scratch

Most people will tell you to switch rods

6013 just likes to run on you. If you aren't required to use it, then 6011 would be a much better choice for vertical work.

If you do have to use 6013 then the best advice I can give is to focus on the puddle and do your best to ignore all the flux running underneath it. You will have to do a pretty exaggerated whip and pause.

Welcome to SFT by the way
Old 02-19-2017, 11:39 PM
The Real Deal

Welcome to the site, I can't help you with the 6013. I ran a few rods about 40 years ago and didn't care for it at all and have never ran any since, There will be someone here that can help you.
Old 02-20-2017, 12:27 AM
Auction Addict

You can run 6013 vertical but it is more difficult than 6010, 7018 or 6011. Like mentioned before watch the puddle and ignore the slag. Helps to keep the heat down too. Show us some pics of what you have done so we can see and give you better advice.

Welcome to the fracas.

Loyalty to the Nation all the time, loyalty to the Government when it deserves it. Mark Twain
Old 02-20-2017, 12:38 AM
Hey...wait...is there a prize?

I'm with Matt--change rods if you can. 6013 don't like to go uphill. It can be made to work--sort of--but if you're trying to learn uphand it's not the best place to start. If you could weld 6013 without all the slag it might not be too bad; the weld is a bit runny but it's the slag hiding the puddle that makes it tricky.