Shop Floor Talk  

Go Back   Shop Floor Talk > Welding and Metalworking Forums > Equipment, Suppliers and OEM's

SFT Search:   

Old 04-20-2006, 09:18 AM

Default Thermal Arc Pro-Wave 185TSW

Hi, guys.

I'm new to this great forum (although I've been reading it for awhile now). I'd like to introduce myself and ask a few questions about a pending purchase.

I'm just a homeshop hack who likes to work on cars, machinery, firearms, or pretty much anything metal. Right now I'm restoring a 1959 Ford Galaxie that requires alot of sheet metal work and some frame/other machining work. Most of my other projects are in steel but some involve aluminum.

Now to the questions. I need a TIG (OK, I WANT a TIG) welder and have decided on the Thermal Arc Pro-Wave 185TSW.

First, for those of you who have used this unit, how do you like it?

Second, is it worth the $1,700 price?

Third, how is the customer service with Thermal Arc?

Finally, and perhaps most importantly, can I get by with hooking this thing up to a generator that puts out less than the rated imput amperage if I keep the tig welding down in the lower ranges? Its going to take me a while to rewire my garage and I'd like to use this thing before that's finished.

Any and all comments are welcome. THANKS!
Old 04-20-2006, 09:44 AM
Mr. Pompous Ass

Send a message via AIM to Shade Tree Welder

For automotive work I would point you toward a MIG Machine vs. a Tig. I also would point you at a blue machine but that is my predjudice.

As far as the power requirements, you should be fine, what is the generator output rated at in amps?

"Prepare to defend yourselves."
-- Sergeant Major Basil L. Plumley, Ia Drang Valley
Old 04-20-2006, 10:27 AM

Hi, Shade.